Here We Go! (Almost)

So this past week has been a little bit of a rest week for me. I just got back from Orlando from competing in the 2015 UCA Cheerleading College Nationals. It was stressful, but also fun and I figured my legs needed a little bit of a break before I start my half marathon-training plan. Before I jump into training for 13.1 miles, I want to talk about how I started and how I got where I am now. So for my New Year’s resolution for 2014, I decided to buy a pair of Brook’s running shoes and train to become a runner.

I definitely put on a couple of pounds my first year of college, even with having 5:15 a.m. workouts with cheerleading. When I first started running I didn’t use a training plan – I thought I didn’t need one (BAD IDEA). I was impatient and did not let my body get used to running over a mile at a time. Also, I started out running every day and at least 1-2 miles a day (another BAD IDEA). So a few weeks into my own training for a 5k workout, my legs began to ache, even when I hadn’t done anything. I went to my doctor and found out my muscle enzymes were too high, because I jumped into it too fast. So, tip number 1: pace yourself. You will be very tired at the beginning, but it does get easier. Your muscles get stronger and your endurance gets better.

Also, running every day was crazy to start out with! Every training plan I have come across says to run 3 days a week with 4 being the max. Second tip: start with a training plan. When school started last August, my roommate and I started over on a 5k training plan, which really helped my endurance even more, although I had already ran a 5k a few months earlier. We used the app C25K, and it was great and also free!

Another tip that has helped me to stay accountable is to find someone to run with. My roommate and another one of our friends ran together all last semester while we did our 5k training plan. It was much more enjoyable and easier because I had my friends to run with. These are a few tips I have learned from my 5K training so far and don’t worry, there will be plenty more!

Leave a Reply

