Treadmill VS. Outdoor Running

This week, I have been focusing on increasing my 5K time because I am in a 5K race this weekend. I want to improve my personal best score from the last race I was in, which was last summer and my time was around 29 minutes. I am hoping to shed a few minutes off of that time so we will see!

 

This week, I have trained both inside and outside for my 5K. This made me start thinking about which place I like to run better: inside on a treadmill or outside around the campus and town of Troy? I could rant on and on for days about how I feel about both of these locations. But, to save all of my readers, I will keep it short and sweet and provide the most important information that I find helpful.  🙂

 

IMG_0671Running on a treadmill is how I first began training to become a runner. I enjoyed running at the gym on campus or at my old apartment complex because they both have TV’s connected to them, so I was never bored while running. I also enjoy the accessibility of keeping the same pace on a treadmill. Active.com gave some great pros and cons tips for treadmill running so you can go weigh out your options!

 

I have grown to enjoy running outside much more this last few months. Since it rarely gets freezing cold down here in Alabama, I haven’t had to worry much about running outside during the winter months. When I swapped from running on the treadmill to running outside, it was definitely a shock! It wasn’t that drastic as I am making it sound, but I definitely didn’t prepare myself for the hills that come with the outdoors. But it didn’t take me long to get used to it, and the awesome advantage of running outdoors is you get to see beautiful scenery like these photos I took on my run this week!IMG_0667

IMG_0663

Another great website I found helpful was daveywaveyfitness.com. It gives a brief description of pros and cons for both treadmill running and also running outside.

 

As for my opinion for which I enjoy better, I would have to say it depends on the distance I am running. I honestly wouldn’t enjoy running 10 miles on a treadmill, but if it’s around three or four, I’m good with that!

Leave a Reply

