How To Be A Morning Runner

Since I’ve been training for my half marathon, I have been playing with different times to run during the day. I started doing this because I’ve been getting in a slump after I come back from school and then I begin to dread trying to figure out when to go run, which means I would have to leave again after I’ve been going all day. Yes, the horrible life of a college student where all we have to do is go to class and take naps. But seriously, it gets busy with cheerleading plus a new job that I just got the opportunity to accept.

So with that being said, I’ve found that I enjoy running in the morning (usually).

Morning running is a preference to every runner. It just depends on how your body reacts act different times of the day. I personally enjoy running in the morning because it fits better with my class schedule right now and I also enjoy starting my day off with a run and having the rest of my day to get everything done with.

Here are a few running tips that I have found helpful to become a morning runner.

  • Set a plan to wake up and run and stick to it. There have been plenty of days where I have hit the snooze button and ended up having to plan an afternoon run since I didn’t get up. Don’t do this – you will be so angry with yourself later that you didn’t stick to your plan. Set a time and stay determined to get up at that time.
  • Allow yourself time to wake up and get going before your run. If you have somewhere to be such as work, school, etc., then make sure to allow yourself enough time to wake up and get ready to run.
  • If you are going to eat before a run, get up in enough time to let your food settle. When I am running for my longer runs, I will get up at least an hour and a half earlier than when I want to run to let my food settle, because the last thing you want is to start your day off with a bad run. But on my short runs such as three or four miles, I usually just eat after I am done.

I hope these tips help you to become a better morning runner!

Leave a comment