Health Benefits of Running

I know I have been giving many tips about running like what shoes to wear, treadmill vs. outdoor running, and tips to stay motivated, just to name a few posts. But I have not covered the most important question: why should we run??

Other than the rewarding emotional benefits you receive from finishing your goals, running also comes along with many health benefits that I’ve noticed in my body over the past year. I thought I would share some of my favorite advantages that come from running that I found on my favorite running websites.

Active.com, one of my favorite running websites, listed a reason that has helped me – running helps lose weight. My freshman year of college definitely showed me it’s easy to gain weight – even with my cheerleading team working out twice a week. When I began to notice I gained about 7 or 8 pounds, I realized I needed to start something to help me lose a few pounds.

I quickly began to notice a difference in my weight – I dropped the unwanted pounds without changing almost anything to my diet. Running is an excellent and easy way to drop and maintain a certain weight limit. It is a fast way to burn off extra calories in a short amount of time, which makes it convenient for a busy schedule.

Another benefit for running that I found from medicaldaily.com is running reduces high blood pressure. Although I have never had high blood pressure, I can notice a change in my blood pressure and my breathing levels during my runs. My last few doctor trips in the past year have noted that I have excellent blood pressure, which has really encouraged me to keep running to maintain my health for future purposes.

This article explained that even though your blood pressure spikes while running, this should not be anything to worry about. It also mentioned that any type of aerobic exercise, including running, could lower the risk of not only high blood pressure, but also high cholesterol and diabetes.

Running can be very beneficial to your health, and it can also be very rewarding at the same time. There are plenty other benefits that running has to offer, and I suggest you look into them if you are considering to begin running or if you have been running for year. I hope you have enjoyed my favorite benefits!

Leave a Reply

